//
you're reading...
Musings

On Writing: Then and Now


As an avid reader of science fiction, I spent my early childhood enraptured by the stories of Golden Age giants like Asimov, Clarke, Heinlein, and Bradbury, writers with the ability to transport me to other worlds.  I marveled at their talent to construct alternate realities where heroes triumphed and set the world right again, usually in the face of overwhelming odds.  In fact, I was fascinated with writing because of my love for reading; however, fascination diminished over the years, replaced by practical utility.

I remember trying to write science fiction stories for class assignments, stories that spanned the present and the future, with unlikely heroes – usually my friends and I – doing battle for the future of humanity.  Of course, I thought I was writing pure poetry, but my teachers used red ink to share a different perspective.  Indeed, imagination was my friend and grammar my sworn enemy.  Truly, I despised grammar with all of its past participles, indefinite articles, and subordinating conjunctions, apparently built for the singular purpose of making life difficult.

I do not remember exactly when I stopped writing for sheer enjoyment, certainly by the time I entered high school.  Frustrated with my ability to live up to the standard set by the grand masters, it seems I gradually began to think about writing as a means to an end.  Indeed, I stopped writing out of desire, instead only writing when I had to.  Of course, the future is full of possibility; perhaps I can still recapture the wonder of childhood imagination and rekindle the passion to tell a great tale.

About rjrock

Husband, Father, Friend, Business & Technology Executive, Student, Veteran, Leadership and Communication Scholar, Lifelong Learner, Sailor, Musician, Basketball Player, Camper, Harley Rider, Dog Lover, Lover of the Lived Experience, Coach, Mentor, Tutor

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 5,330 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 111 other followers

Top Rated

Fostering Heroes

Community Profile of the Family behind America's Military Working Dogs- Produced for Gonzaga COML 517

Corey's COML adventure

COML 509 Spring 2013

Lullaby Pit

incept: 4.1.94

Reason and Politics

Ideas. Events. People

Progressive Culture | Scholars & Rogues

Arts & literature, pop culture, media, photography, sports and climate

purpleideas

words from a purple life

Tom Tonkin's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dr. Quinn

a woman of words

Support

WordPress.com Support

